Shop Corpus: 1936 The War Has Already Begun... Paperback online in Dubai, Abu Dhabi and all UAE
imageGalleryImg

Corpus: 1936 The War Has Already Begun... Paperback

AED 51.10(Inclusive of VAT)

Quantity
1

Enjoy hassle free returns with this offer.

  • Trusted ShippingFree shipping
  • Easy ReturnsFree returns on eligible items so you can shop with ease
  • Secure ShoppingYour data is always protected

Specifications

AuthorRory Clements
LanguageEnglish
PublisherZaffre Publishing
Publication Date13 Jul 2017
Book DescriptionA gripping spy thriller for fans of ROBERT HARRIS and WILLIAM BOYD from award-winning Sunday Times bestseller Rory Clements and author of the 2018 CWA HISTORICAL DAGGER WINNER, NUCLEUS 1936. Europe is in turmoil. The Nazis have marched into the Rhineland. In Russia, Stalin has unleashed his Great Terror. Spain has erupted in civil war. In Berlin, a young Englishwoman evades the Gestapo to deliver vital papers to a Jewish scientist. Within weeks, she is found dead, a silver syringe clutched in her fingers. In an exclusive London club, a conspiracy is launched that threatens the very heart of government. When a renowned society couple with fascist leanings are found brutally murdered, a maverick Cambridge professor is drawn into a world of espionage he knows only from history books. The deeper Thomas Wilde delves, the more he finds to link the murders with the girl with the silver syringe - and even more worryingly to the scandal surrounding the Abdication . . . Set against the gathering drumbeat of war and moving from Berlin to Cambridge, from Whitehall to the Kent countryside, and from the Fens to the Aragon Front in Spain, this big canvas international thriller, like C J Sansom's WINTER IN MADRID, marks the beginning of a brilliant new direction for Rory Clements.
Editorial Reviewpacy and assured...Well crafted, it has all the pleasures of an intriguing lead character, intricate plot and historical context'. -- Elizabeth Buchan * Daily Mail * 'Rory Clements's timely spy thriller set in the 1930s evokes a period of political polarisation, mistrust and simmering violence. Corpus is fast-paced and there are plenty of red herrings to keep you guessing. This is the first of a promising series and Wilde is a likeable hero. If his leap from Cambridge historian to fearless motor-biking crime fighter stretches credulity, perhaps that is the fault of the Cambridge historians I have known.' -- Antonia Senior * The Times, Saturday Review * 'This clever novel, rich in deceptions and intrigue, shows the reach of Stalin and Hitler into every class of British society, threatening violence on a horrific scale. Corpus is a standout historical novel and spy thriller by an author who can turn his hand to any historical period he chooses.' -- Kate Atherton * Daily Express * I was a huge fan of the John Shakespeare series and love every single book. Corpus was an enjoyable read... * Lis The Bookworm * 'I really enjoyed this book. It was my first experience of this author and I am very glad I picked this one up. The writing was easy to get into and the plot was engaging. I enjoyed the characters, especially the lead - he is well written and intelligent. Overall this was a great book set in an interesting time and I would definitely recommend picking this book up.' * The Little Book Owl * ' An intelligent thriller...I loved the characters and especially hero Professor Thomas Wilde. Our heroine, Lydia is well rounded...Wilde is a cool hero.' * For the Love of Books * 'It simply took my breath away. The amount of research that has gone into this superb book is just phenomenal. Boy does Rory Clements know how to tell a story! It's a tangled web of espionage, murder, intrigue and thrills. I'm so glad I got the chance to review this book. When I have time I will be reading this again. There's so much detail that you might miss!' * The Book Guzzler * An atmospheric historical thriller * The Daily Telegraph * Best known for his Tudor espionage novels, Rory Clements has turned his hand to 1930s skulduggery in Corpus... More please, Mr Clements! * Times Higher Education Supplement *
About the AuthorRORY CLEMENTS is a Sunday Times bestselling author. He won the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Award for his second novel, Revenger, and a TV series of the John Shakespeare novels is currently in development. Rory lives in Norfolk with his family. Find out more at www.roryclements.co.uk.
Number of Pages480
productboxImg_v1547473598/N20301706A_1

Corpus: 1936 The War Has Already Begun... Paperback

Cart Total

AED 0.00