Shop Drylands: Meanwhile... Paperback online in Dubai, Abu Dhabi and all UAE

Drylands: Meanwhile... Paperback

Was:AED 61.05

Now:AED 48.85(Inclusive of VAT)

Saving:AED 12.2019% Off


1 other offer fromAED 50.85

View All Offers

2 Offers Available

  • AED 48.85AED 6119% Off

    Order in the next 15 hrs 40 mins and receive it by Sun, Dec 22

    Sold by Bookfalcons

  • AED 50.85

    Order in the next 15 hrs 40 mins and receive it by Wed, Dec 25


Enjoy hassle free returns with this offer.

  • Trusted ShippingFree shipping when you spend 100 AED and above
  • Easy ReturnsFree returns on eligible items so you can shop with ease
  • Secure ShoppingYour data is always protected


AuthorThea Astley
PublisherText Publishing Co
Publication Date12 Mar 2019
Book DescriptionIn the dying town of Drylands, Janet Deakin sells papers to lonely locals. At night, in her flat above the newsagency, she attempts to write a novel for a world in which no one reads - 'full of people, she envisaged, glaring at a screen that glared glassily back.' Drylands is the story of the townsfolk's harsh, violent lives. Trenchant and brilliant, Thea Astley's final novel is a dark portrait of outback Australia in decline.
Editorial Review`Wonderful.' * Australian * `It is impossible to put this book down. It seethes with energy and passion.' * Herald Sun *
About the AuthorThea Beatrice May Astley was born in Brisbane in 1925. n 1958 Astley's first novel, Girl with a Monkey, was published. Over the next four decades she published a work of fiction every few years. Her novels and short stories are distinguished by vivid imagery and metaphor; a complex, ironic style; and a desire to highlight oppression and social injustice. Astley won the Miles Franklin Literary Award for The Well Dressed Explorer (1962), her third novel. Many notable books followed, among them the groundbreaking A Kindness Cup (1974), which addressed frontier massacres of Indigenous Australians, and It's Raining in Mango (1987). Astley won the 1989 Patrick White Award and became an Officer in the Order of Australia in 1992. Her last novel was Drylands (1999), her fourth Miles Franklin winner and first since 1972. A lifelong chain-smoker famed for her sharp wit, Thea Astley died in 2004. She remains one of the most distinctive and influential Australian novelists of the twentieth century.
Number of Pages272

Drylands: Meanwhile... Paperback

Cart Total

AED 0.00