Shop How Fiction Works Paperback online in Dubai, Abu Dhabi and all UAE
imageGalleryImg

How Fiction Works Paperback

Was:AED 59.90

Now:AED 47.95(Inclusive of VAT)

Saving:AED 11.9519% Off

Quantity
1

Enjoy hassle free returns with this offer.

  • Trusted ShippingFree shipping
  • Easy ReturnsFree returns on eligible items so you can shop with ease
  • Secure ShoppingYour data is always protected

Specifications

AuthorJames Wood
LanguageEnglish
PublisherVintage Publishing
Publication Date05 February 2009
Book DescriptionIn the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel, How Fiction Works is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism, and style. In his first full-length book of criticism, one of the most prominent critics of our time takes the machinery of story-telling apart to ask a series of fundamental questions: What do we mean when we say we 'know' a fictional character? What constitutes a 'telling' detail? When is a metaphor successful? Is realism realistic? Why do most endings of novels disappoint?Wood ranges widely, from Homer to Beatrix Potter, from the Bible to John Le Carre, and his book is both a study of the techniques of fiction-making and an alternative history of the novel. Playful and profound, it incisively sums up two decades of bold, often controversial, and now classic critical work, and will be enlightening to writers, readers, and anyone interested in what happens on the page.
Editorial ReviewThis compelling essay shows just how deeply, sensitively, imaginatively and joyfully he reads * Scotland on Sunday * "There aren't many book reviewers whose leaving one magazine to go to work for another would make the headlines. But then there aren't many book reviewers like James Wood" * Sunday Telegraph * "Luminous... full of top-notch observations from the coal-face" -- D.J. Taylor * Independent on Sunday * "Enchanting... Witty, concise, and composed with a lovely lightness of touch" * Economist * "Exceptionally illuminating... brilliantly acute and enticingly widely read work. It should be compulsory reading for anyone in the reviewing trade and committed to memory before aspiring writers put pen to paper. For those who intend to pursue the underrated calling of reading fiction without wishing to add to its ranks, it will not only make reading more pleasurable, but articulate what you may have felt but never been able to express" -- Rosemary Goring * Herald *
About the AuthorJames Wood has been a staff writer at the New Yorker since 2007. In 2009, he won the National Magazine Award for reviews and criticism. He was the chief literary critic at the Guardian from 1992 to 1995, and a book critic at the New Republic from 1995 to 2007. He has published a number of books with Cape, including How Fiction Works, which has been translated into thirteen languages.
Number of Pages208
productboxImg_v1561486815/N27162890A_1

How Fiction Works Paperback

Cart Total

AED 0.00