imageGallery
imageGallery
imageGalleryImg
imageGalleryImg

Little Deaths - Paperback

AED 84.0055% OffAED 37.85

Inclusive of VAT

Quantity
1
  • Trusted ShippingFree shipping when you spend 100 AED and above
  • Easy ReturnsFree returns on eligible items so you can shop with ease
  • Always AuthenticWe only sell 100% authentic products
  • Secure ShoppingYour data is always protected

Highlights

    Specifications

    AuthorEmma Flint
    LanguageEnglish
    Publication Date42747
    Editorial Review"A phenomenal achievement. "Little Deaths" is one of those so-very-rare accomplishments: a lightning fast, heart-pounding, psychologically resonant crime novel that effortlessly transcends genre. If you believed that literary fiction can't be a one-sitting read, think again." "Jeffery Deaver"" "Little Deaths is a rarity: a period piece and police procedural that is wrenching and real and deeply moving. I fell fast and hard under the spell of this lush, moody, film noir of a novel." "Chris Bohjalian, "New York Times" bestselling author of "The Guest Room," "The Sandcastle Girls," and "Midwives""" "I couldn't put it down . . . So utterly satisfying, intriguing, and brilliant that everything else falls short. I can't wait for Emma Flint's next book." Emma Chapman, author of How To Be a Good Wife" "Sharply rendered literary noir." Kirkus Reviews " "Gripping.... Flint...nails with authority the voices, commonplace wisdom, and dusty claustrophobia of the borough. Just as important, Flint captures the mundane yet mythic horror of the case that has memorialized it in the annals of New York City crime.... Flint is scrupulous about centering this moody thriller in the facts, yet giving them a deeper psychological spin."--Maureen Corrigan, Washington Post "Affecting, achingly beautiful debut...This stunning novel is less about whodunit than deeper social issues of motherhood, morals, and the kind of rush to judgment that can condemn someone long before the accused sees the inside of a courtroom."--Publishers Weekly (starred review) "Compelling ... the closing scene is a jaw-dropper.... This is absolutely absorbing literary crime fiction, perfect for fans of Megan Abbott and Sarah Waters."--Booklist (starred review) "This accomplished debut novel will intrigue fans of both true crime and noir fiction. Flint...is a welcome addition to the world of literary crime fiction. Readers of Megan Abbott may want to investigate."--Library Journal (starred review) "A phenomenal achievement. Little Deaths is one of those so-very-rare accomplishments: a lightning fast, heart-pounding, psychologically resonant crime novel that effortlessly transcends genre. If you believed that literary fiction can't be a one-sitting read, think again."--Jeffery Deaver "Emma Flint's Little Deaths beguiles readers with a most harrowing crime: two children dead, their mother, Ruth, the likely suspect. Readers will as easily pity Ruth as doubt and denounce her, as Flint seduces us with a gem of a whodunit, making us question our every instinct. Deeply moody and moving, Little Deaths embodies the role of women in the sixties, especially those who dared to deviate from societal norms."--Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author of The Good Girl "Utterly atmospheric and with style to burn, Emma Flint's Little Deaths is a novel that troubles and transfixes from its simmering first pages all the way to its searing final words."--Megan Abbott, author of You Will Know Me "Little Deaths is a rarity: a period piece and police procedural that is wrenching and real and deeply moving. I fell fast and hard under the spell of this lush, moody, film noir of a novel."--Chris Bohjalian, New York Times bestselling author of The Guest Room, The Sandcastle Girls, and Midwives "An absolutely gripping debut! Emma Flint spins a lyrical tale of horror and suspense in the vivid and thick atmosphere of 1965 Queens. Even after I finished, the story would not leave me. I cannot wait to read more from this talented author."--Beth Harbison, New York Times bestselling author of One Less Problem Without You "I couldn't put it down.... So utterly satisfying, intriguing, and brilliant that everything else falls short. I can't wait for Emma Flint's next book."--Emma Chapman, author of How To Be a Good Wife "Gripping and shattering. Ruth's story will stay with me for the rest of my life."--Erin Kelly, author of The Poison Tree "Little Deaths is a stunning feat . . . Ruth Malone's descent into hell is a riveting tale of bad luck, heartbreak, and prejudice, written with the pace of a thriller and the rich detail of a historical novel."--Jane Casey, author of The Missing "I read this with a dry mouth and a pounding heart--and can think of no higher praise for a literary crime novel."--The Bookseller (UK) "A gripping read that is at the same time deeply real. A beautifully written and realized debut. I absolutely loved it."--Kate Hamer, author of The Girl in the Red Coat "Sharply rendered literary noir."--Kirkus Reviews "This thrilling suspense story will make you question your loyalties at every turn."--Harper's Bazaar "Wonderfully atmospheric.... Simmering with tension, Little Deaths is a stylish, troubling look at how appearances can deceive."--The Express (UK) "Involving and atmospheric, and immensely gripping."--Sophie Hannah, author of Woman with a Secret "[An] excellent debut...Flint is unsparing and convincing in her portrayal of Malone, a woman of little education and flawed habits, fighting a society that believes she could not be a good mother."--The Times (UK) "As a character study, [Little Deaths is] a killer."--Entertainment Weekly "As a psychological study of the subtle terror visited on a woman who is alone and essentially a victim herself, it's superlative."--BookPage "Mesmerizing.... Flint captures the loneliness, struggles, and ennui of the residents of working-class Queens in the mid-1960s, especially the women who, for the most part, are stay-at-home moms.... Flint...turns Little Deaths into a poignant look at a woman fighting for her emotional independence, who keeps her grief, heartbreak and frustrations deep inside her soul."--Associated Press "[Little Deaths] is, just like the real-life case, a story I cannot get out of my head. Ruth Malone, Flint's fictionalized version, is a woman of great contradictions and fierce independence. She won't apologize and won't explain her life, and in mid-1960s New York, that's perhaps a greater crime than whether she killed her children .... The underlying crimes Ruth is accused of -- being independent, promiscuous, defiant, putting her own pleasure first -- are leveled at women today and, sadly, will continue to be leveled."--Sarah Weinman, "The Crime Lady"

    Cart Total

    AED 0.00

    Little Deaths - Paperback

    AED 84.0055% OffAED 37.85

    productboxImg_v1500665675/N11127542A_1
    Sold by WISDOMKITAB