Shop The Other Mother Paperback online in Dubai, Abu Dhabi and all UAE
imageGalleryImg

The Other Mother Paperback

Was:AED 69.65

Now:AED 55.75(Inclusive of VAT)

Saving:AED 13.9019% Off

Quantity
1

1 other offer fromAED 56.75

View All Offers

2 Offers Available

  • AED 55.75AED 7019% Off

    Order in the next 5 hrs 39 mins and receive it by Sun, Dec 22

    Sold by Bookfalcons

  • AED 56.75

    Order in the next 5 hrs 39 mins and receive it by Wed, Dec 25

    Sold by WISDOMKITAB

Enjoy hassle free returns with this offer.

  • Trusted ShippingFree shipping when you spend 100 AED and above
  • Easy ReturnsFree returns on eligible items so you can shop with ease
  • Secure ShoppingYour data is always protected

Specifications

AuthorCarol Goodman
LanguageEnglish
PublisherHarperCollins Publishers Inc
Publication Date18 Apr 2018
Book DescriptionFrom the author of the internationally bestselling The Lake of Dead Languages comes a gripping novel about madness, motherhood, love, and trust. When Daphne Marist and her infant daughter, Chloe, pull up the gravel drive to the home of Daphne's new employer, it feels like they've entered a whole new world. Tucked in the Catskills, the stone mansion looks like something out of a fairy tale, its lush landscaping hiding the view of the mental asylum just beyond its border. Daphne secured the live-in position using an assumed name and fake credentials, telling no one that she's on the run from a controlling husband who has threatened to take her daughter away. Daphne's new life is a far cry from the one she had in Westchester where, just months before, she and her husband welcomed little Chloe. From the start, Daphne tries to be a good mother, but she's plagued by dark moods and intrusive thoughts that convince her she's capable of harming her own daughter. When Daphne is diagnosed with Postpartum Mood Disorder, her downward spiral feels unstoppable-until she meets Laurel Hobbes. Laurel, who also has a daughter named Chloe, is everything Daphne isn't: charismatic, sophisticated, fearless. They immediately form an intense friendship, revealing secrets to one another they thought they'd never share. Soon, they start to look alike, dress alike, and talk alike, their lives mirroring one another in strange and disturbing ways. But Daphne realizes only too late that being friends with Laurel will come at a very shocking price-one that will ultimately lead her to that towering mansion in the Catskills where terrifying, long-hidden truths will finally be revealed....
Editorial ReviewAn atmospheric and harrowing tale, richly literary in complexity but ripe with all the crazed undertones, confusions, and forebodings inherent in the gothic genre. Recommend this riveting, du Maurier-like novel to fans of Jennifer McMahon. -- Booklist (starred review) Chilling...Goodman's affinity for the dark psychological plot excels in THE OTHER MOTHER." -- South Florida Sun Sentinel "This engrossing novel will keep readers eagerly turning the pages." -- Publishers Weekly "An engaging read that will appeal to readers of Shari Lapena or Michelle Richmond." -- Library Journal "In the spirit of Du Maurier's Rebecca...A gothic thriller deliciously riddled with dark motives and shadowy paths." -- Kirkus Reviews "Carol Goodman is, simply put, a stellar writer." -- Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author of The Red Hunter
About the AuthorCarol Goodman is the critically acclaimed author of fourteen novels, including The Lake of Dead Languages and The Seduction of Water, which won the 2003 Hammett Prize. Her books have been translated into sixteen languages. She lives in the Hudson Valley with her family, and teaches writing and literature at the New School and SUNY New Paltz.
Number of Pages352
productboxImg_v1547473452/N20300879A_1

The Other Mother Paperback

Cart Total

AED 0.00