Shop The Ruin Paperback online in Dubai, Abu Dhabi and all UAE
imageGalleryImg

The Ruin Paperback

AED 51.75(Inclusive of VAT)

Quantity
1

1 other offer fromAED 54.45

View All Offers

2 Offers Available

  • AED 51.75

    Order in the next 6 hrs 14 mins and receive it by Sat, Dec 28

    Sold by WISDOMKITAB

  • AED 54.45AED 6819% Off

    Order in the next 6 hrs 14 mins and receive it by Wed, Dec 25

    Sold by Bookfalcons

Enjoy hassle free returns with this offer.

  • Trusted ShippingFree shipping when you spend 100 AED and above
  • Easy ReturnsFree returns on eligible items so you can shop with ease
  • Secure ShoppingYour data is always protected

Specifications

AuthorDervla McTiernan
LanguageEnglish
PublisherLittle, Brown Book Group
Publication Date06 Sep 2018
Book DescriptionFebruary 1993 On his first week on the job, Garda Cormac Reilly responds to a call at a decrepit country house to find two silent, neglected children waiting for him - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lies dead upstairs. March 2013 Twenty years later, Cormac has left his high-flying career as a detective in Dublin and returned to Galway. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him. What ties a recent suicide to the woman's death so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust? Dervla McTiernan's powerful debut The Ruin draws us into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Tana French and Susie Steiner.
Editorial ReviewBrilliantly crafted . . . incredibly real-feeling characters. An absolute treat! * Sunday Mirror * An exciting new voice in Irish noir * Sunday Times (Crime Club) * A crime writer of promise * RTE Guide * I can't wait to read the next one . . . a star crime writer is born! * Books Ireland * An absorbing tale * Irish Times * Absolutely brilliant. Wonderful characters, authentic setting, and a sublime, twisty plot * Irish Examiner * Intelligent, compassionate and believable -- Sinead Crowley Loved every page. Cormac Reilly is a brilliant new character, so real you can hear his footsteps on the stairs. Utterly gripping, brilliantly executed story. Serious contender for Irish Crime Novel of the Year -- Sam Blake Fans of Tana French will love McTiernan's expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden -- Karen Dionne There are not many books that will keep me reading from start to finish but Dervla McTiernan's The Ruin did just that . . . An excellent story, very well written . . . this one was a winner for me! -- Alex Gray Instantly hauling the reader into its permanently charged atmosphere, The Ruin is as convincing as it is multi-layered, as compelling as it is complex, and heralds the arrival of Dervla McTiernan as a future star of the genre -- Chris Brookmyre I tore through The Ruin, desperate to unravel the mystery that Dervla so cleverly lays out. Heartbreaking and heart-stopping in equal measure, it's an incredibly well-crafted, complex tale and yet remarkably easy to read, such is the subtle brilliance of the plotting . . . Dervla maintains the suspense all the way through, yet never at the expense of plausibility. She's sure to become one of my go-to authors! -- Caz Frear Bravo! The Ruin is a terrific read! -- Liz Nugent Corruption, clandestine cover-ups and criminal conspiracy ... as moving as it is fast-paced -- Val McDermid A very fine novel . . . excellently written and, at times, heartcatchingly sad -- Marian Keyes
About the AuthorDervla McTiernan was born in County Cork, Ireland to a family of seven. She studied corporate law at the National University of Ireland, Galway and the Law Society of Ireland, and practiced as a lawyer for twelve years. Following the global financial crisis she moved with her family to Western Australia, where she now works for the Mental Health Commission. She lives in Perth with her husband and two children.
Number of Pages400
productboxImg_v1547473241/N20299886A_1

The Ruin Paperback

Cart Total

AED 0.00