imageGalleryImg

Worse Things Happen At Sea - Paperback

AED 107.15

Inclusive of VAT

Quantity
1
  • Trusted ShippingFree shipping when you spend 100 AED and above
  • Easy ReturnsFree returns on eligible items so you can shop with ease
  • Always AuthenticWe only sell 100% authentic products
  • Secure ShoppingYour data is always protected

Highlights

    Specifications

    AuthorAlan Snow
    LanguageEnglish
    Publication Date42096
    Editorial ReviewFrom School Library Journal Gr 4-8–In this follow-up to Here Be Monsters! (S & S, 2006), a mysterious doctor arrives in the town of Ratbridge with Black Jollop, a miraculous substance that appears to cure almost any ailment. Meanwhile, aboard the Nautical Laundry, the ragtag crew of rats and pirates loses a major court case due to an unfortunate underwear incident, racking up a small fortune in fines. Rather serendipitously, the “good doctor” is eager to pay the ship's crew handsomely to find a source for the ingredients in his curative goop. Young Arthur, who sneaks aboard the ship; his grandfather; and their friends discover that Black Jollop is, in fact, a poison that is slowly beginning to infect Ratbridge's citizens with a dangerous cheese obsession. Will Arthur, his friend Fish the boxtroll, and the crew of the Nautical Laundry find an antidote for the cheese lust that is now tearing their village apart? This quirky, fast-paced adventure on the high seas delivers plenty of dry humor and delightfully odd characters. Snow's many detailed illustrations will help connect the dots for struggling readers, aiding them in making sense of the more esoteric maritime vocabulary and allowing them to soar through the book's lengthy page count. Ratbridge newspaper clippings enhance the world-building. Readers who enjoy Lemony Snicket or Roald Dahl will relish this charming and strange story.–Elly Schook, Jamieson Elementary School, Chicagoα(c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition. From Booklist Desperate to find a cure for the strange disease afflicting his grandfather, young Arthur and his sidekick, a boxtroll named Fish, hide aboard the Laundry before it sails. They engineer a mutiny, imprisoning the nefarious Archibald Snatcher and his gang, but more challenges lie ahead for the plucky good guys. The second volume of the Ratbridge Chronicles series is as adventurous, amusing, and engaging as its predecessor. On nearly every page, Snow’s droll ink drawings depict the action and invented creatures, such as trotting badgers and shopping birds (now rare owing to “blatant consumerism and lack of intelligence”). Great fun for reading aloud. Grades 3-6. --Carolyn Phelan --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

    Cart Total

    AED 0.00

    Worse Things Happen At Sea - Paperback

    AED 107.15

    productboxImg_v1500666478/N11245650A_1
    Sold by WISDOMKITAB